The Hills of Galilee

After our stay in the desert, we headed back up north to the rolling, green hills of Galilee. This is the land of Nazareth (Jesus’s hometown) and Capernaum (Peter’s hometown and Jesus’s “home base” for most of his ministry). This land provides the backdrop for much of the New Testament. And, after the frantic pace of Jerusalem and the desolation of the desert, the green hills and sparkling lake were like a breath of fresh air.

View of Mount Hermon from Hazor, an Israelite city built by King Solomon:

IMG_9390

Dan Nature Preserve. This is the area where the Israelite tribe of Dan eventually settled after they failed to drive the Philistines out of the coastal plane. It is also the spot where Jeroboam set up an altar to discourage his people from traveling to Jerusalem to worship in the temple:

IMG_9423

IMG_9448

IMG_9455

Caesarea Philippi. In this town, Peter professed Jesus to be the Son of God:

IMG_9470

IMG_9486

View from the Golan Heights on the northeastern border of Israel:

IMG_9511

We stayed in Ginosar (Biblical Gennesaret) on the Sea of Galilee and spent a good amount of time lounging on the pier outside our hotel. This is the lake where Jesus walked on water:

IMG_9520

IMG_9544

IMG_9547

IMG_9555

IMG_9561

Looking out from the Mount of Beatitudes where Jesus preached the Seromon on the Mount:

IMG_9570

Inside the church commemorating the feeding of the five thousand:

IMG_9598

Capernaum, Peter’s hometown. The darker basalt structures were from Jesus’s time. The synagogue was built in the 4th or 5th century over the original basalt foundation:

IMG_9617

IMG_9628

Excavated corner showing the original basalt foundation of the synagogue in Capernaum:

IMG_9632

IMG_9688

Beit She’an – a Roman city built next to the Tel (or mound) an ancient Israelite city:

IMG_9709

IMG_9745

IMG_9767

View from Mount Precipice near Nazareth. It is said that the Nazarenes attempted to throw Jesus off of this cliff after his reading from the Isaiah scroll in Nazareth. Though the sign on top of the mountain says that he escaped by flying away, the Gospel of Luke states that “he passed through their midst”:

IMG_9784

One of many beautiful mosaics in Sepphoris, a Hellenistic city near Nazareth:

IMG_9829

Megiddo – another Solomonic city. This city is referenced in the word Armageddon (“Armageddon” comes from the Hebrew “Har Megiddo” meaning “Mount Megiddo”). The Bible, therefore, connects this location with the final battle between good and evil.

IMG_9841

IMG_9873

Caesarea Maritima – a Herodian city and harbor on the Mediterranean Sea. It was here that the Gospel first reached the Gentiles when Peter baptized Cornelius the Centurion. Paul was also imprisoned here as he awaited trial in Rome.

IMG_9907

IMG_9909

IMG_9917

2 responses

  1. I AM VERY HAPPY TO SEE ALL SITES WHERE MY Lord Jesus walked, slept, walked on water, gave good news, its my great desire to see all these sites physically and kiss these all sites bow my head, If my God give me a chance in my coming days of my life. I am a Pakistani , not allowed to enter Israel holy Land, I hope my God will help me sooner or later, God Bless Mam sara who posted all these pics.

  2. I AM VERY HAPPY TO SEE ALL SITES WHERE MY Lord Jesus walked, slept, walked on water, gave good news, its my great desire to see all these sites physically and kiss these all sites bow my head, If my God give me a chance in my coming days of my life. I am a Pakistani , not allowed to enter Israel holy Land, I hope my God will help me sooner or later, God Bless Mam sarah Sue who posted all these pics.

Leave a Reply

